Press Releases

Reps. Peters, Salmon Establish Congressional Algae Caucus

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Scott Peters (D-CA) and Congressman Matt Salmon (R-AZ) launched the Congressional Algae Caucus, an effort to provide a forum for Members of Congress and their staffs to learn about and interact with the nascent algae industry.

“Algae-based products deserve a chance to compete on a level playing field with other technologies,” said Representative Salmon. “In my own state we are already seeing the economic development that is possible from a thriving algae sector, from jobs to research and development.  High tech jobs will help grow our economy and through this caucus, I hope to draw attention to the great economic and environmental benefits of algae production.”

“I am excited about the opportunities for an increasingly substantive conversation that today’s Algae Caucus launch brings,” Congressman Scott Peters said. “My hope is that the Algae Caucus is a place for bipartisan discussion on how to diversify our energy policy, while also informing Members of Congress about the jobs and partnerships the algae industry is creating, including at the University of California San Diego with the new California Center for Algae Biotechnology.”

With new production facilities planned or operating around the U.S., the algae industry is rapidly emerging as an opportunity to address many of the energy, food, economic, and environmental challenges facing the world today. Algae have the power to simultaneously put fuels in vehicles, recycle CO2, provide nutrition for animals and people and create jobs for millions of Americans without harmful impacts on freshwater supplies or valuable agricultural land.

More information can be seen at

The bipartisan group of members in the new caucus, as of today, is listed below.

Co-Chairs: Rep. Scott Peters (CA-52) & Rep. Matt Salmon (AZ-05)

Members: Rep. Jackie Speier (CA-14), Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02), Rep. Tom Latham (IA-03), Rep. Trey Radel (FL-19), Rep. Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Rep. Tim Walz (MN-01), Rep. Jared Polis (CO-02), Rep. Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03), Rep. Susan Davis (CA-53), Rep. David Cicilline (RI-01), Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), Rep. Duncan Hunter (CA-50)

Congressman Scott Peters serves the 52nd District of California and Congressman Matt Salmon serves the 5th District of Arizona.