Press Releases

Yesterday, U.S. Congressman Scott Peters (CA-52) announced the winner of the 2019 Congressional Art Competition–At the Community Garden, an acrylic painting by Pallavi Murthy of the Francis Parker School–at a reception for the participants of the 2019 Congressional Art Competition and their families. The reception, which took place at the Athenaeum Music and Arts Library in La Jolla, also featured a display of the 76 entries from high school students across San Diego, a record number of submissions since Rep. Peters began the competition in 2014.

“Congratulations to our 2019 winner, Pallavi, and all the students who participated in this year’s competition. The creativity and talent of San Diego’s young artists inspires me every year,” said Rep. Peters. “San Diego is home to some of the best artists, creators, and thinkers in the country and we know artistic skills help fuel the contributions that drive our innovation economy and future workforce. We look forward to welcoming Pallavi and her artwork to Washington, D.C.”

Pallavi’s painting was selected by professionals from local art institutions and will hang in the U.S. Capitol for one year.


[[{"fid":"1563","view_mode":"full","fields":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"1":{"format":"congress_small","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"2":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"style":"height: 576px; width: 500px;","class":"media-element file-full","data-delta":"2"}}]]
“At the Community Garden” by winner, Pallavi Murthy of the Francis Parker School.

[[{"fid":"1564","view_mode":"full","fields":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"3":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"style":"height: 333px; width: 500px;","class":"media-element file-full","data-delta":"3"}}]]

Rep. Peters joins the winner, Pallavi Murthy, with “At the Community Garden.”

“At The Athenaeum, we’re strong believers in educating children in art and music through a very robust outreach and in-reach program, so the Congressional Art Competition is something we love and are eager to get involved in,” said Erika Torri, Joan & Irwin Jacobs Executive Director at the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library. “The entries this year were excellent, and it was a joy to be the host and a judge. The winner will be an outstanding San Diego representative at the Capitol exhibit.”

"On behalf of the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego, Kathryn Kanjo and I are proud to continue our support of the Congressional Art Competition, which celebrates the creative expressions of young artists,” said Jill Dawsey, Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego. “As a judge, I was inspired by the winning artist's thoughtful depiction of friends in a community garden, which conveys the importance of caring for one another and for our environment."

Kathryn Kanjo is the David C. Copley Director and CEO at the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego and a previous Art Competition Judge.

“It’s a true honor to serve on the judging panel for the Congressional Art Competition, showcasing the extraordinary creative talents of San Diego's young artists,” said Matt D'Arrigo, Director of Creative Youth Development at The Clare Rose Foundation. “I've been working with youth in the arts for 18 years and am always blown away by their incredible talent, creativity, and insight. This year’s entries did not disappoint!”

The fan favorite, as determined by the most ‘Likes’ of the image on Rep Peters’ Facebook page was Duality by Joyce Yang of Canyon Crest Academy. Her work will be displayed at Rep. Peters’ District Office in UTC. View all the 2019 submissions here.