Press Releases

Today, U.S. Congressmembers Juan Vargas (CA-51), Scott Peters (CA-52), and Susan Davis (CA-53) released the following statement after $15 million was allocated to the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) U.S. – Mexico Border Water Infrastructure Program: 

“Through continued advocacy and prioritization, we have worked with our colleagues in both the House and Senate to address the ongoing sewage spills into the Tijuana River. The $15 million in funding signed into law today will go to priority projects identified by the EPA to rein in the sewage crisis. As the EPA and the North American Development (NAD) Bank determine how best to use the funding, we will provide input and communicate with San Diegans and other stakeholders to determine what the most pressing needs are.

“We are grateful for Senator Dianne Feinstein for leading this effort in the Senate, the appropriators who helped secure the funding, and our local partners who provided valuable input to this conversation. Our partnership is essential to fully addressing the sewage crisis.”

In March 2018, Vargas, Peters, and Davis, along with Members of Congress representing the border regions of New Mexico and Texas, sent a letter to the Appropriations Committee requesting funding to address trans-border environmental issues across the 2,000-mile border between the United States and Mexico.