In the News

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee will announce Thursday the first 14 members who will join its Frontline program for the party’s most vulnerable incumbents, according to an early copy of a news release obtained by CQ Roll Call.

The incumbents represent competitive districts, making them likely GOP targets in 2016. The Frontline program,which Rep. Dan Kildee, D-Mich., is chairman of,  provides these members with fundraising and organizational support for their re-elections.

“Each one of these members knows what it takes to win tough elections: working hard, standing up for your district, and not taking anything for granted,” DCCC Chairman Ben Ray Luján said in a statement. “We are adding them to our Frontline Program, led by Representative Dan Kildee, to maximize their resources and ensure they are able to keep fighting to strengthen middle class economics. You don’t add by subtracting, so the success of our Members is integral to our plan to stay on offense in 2016.”

This initial list is smaller compared to previous cycles. Last cycle, the DCCC had 26 members in its initial Frontline class. House Democrats lost 13 seats in 2014.

This cycle, House Democrats must pick up a net 30 seats to win the majority. It’s a tough task that will only be more difficult for Democrats if any of their incumbents lose re-election.

In alphabetical order by House district, the first 14 members in Frontline are:

  • Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick in Arizona’s 1st District.
  • Rep. Kyrsten Sinema in Arizona’s 9th District.
  • Rep. Ami Bera in California’s 7th District.
  • Rep. Julia Brownley in California’s 26th District.
  • Rep. Pete Aguilar in California’s 31st District.
  • Rep. Raul Ruiz in California’s 36th District.
  • Rep. Scott Peters in California’s 52nd District.
  • Rep. Gwen Graham in Florida’s 2nd District.
  • Rep. Patrick Murphy in Florida’s 18th District.
  • Rep. Cheri Bustos in Illinois’ 17th District.
  • Rep. Rick Nolan in Minnesota’s 8th District.
  • Rep. Brad Ashford in Nebraska’s 2nd District.
  • Rep. Ann McLane Kuster in New Hampshire’s 2nd District.
  • Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney in New York’s 18th District