## **Representative Scott Peters**

Cosponsors: Reps. Juan Vargas, Mike Levin, Sara Jacobs, Veronica Escobar, Joaquin Castro, Derrick Van Orden, Dan Crenshaw, Jake Ellzey, and Ryan Zinke Endorsing entities: City of San Diego, County of San Diego, City of Coronado

## <u>Problem</u>

Under current law, federal agencies as well as state and local entities remain unable to transfer funds to the International Boundary and Water Commission (IBWC) for projects related to wastewater treatment works, water conservation projects, or flood control works. This leaves IBWC almost solely reliant upon annual appropriations or emergency funding to build and maintain its facilities. Although funding for IBWC has increased in recent years, more flexible funding arrangements would help the agency work with other partners to address relevant projects.

IBWC's jurisdiction covers the South Bay International Wastewater Treatment Plant (SBIWTP) located in San Diego. Long-standing operational failures at SBIWTP have resulted in raw sewage contamination flowing from the Tijuana River into the Pacific Ocean that is then carried into San Diego. This results in a public health crisis that strains local resources, poses significant environmental risks, and forces service members to train in polluted sewage water.

## <u>Solution</u>

This bill authorizes IBWC to accept funds for activities related to wastewater treatment and flood control works. This language would allow other federal agencies or entities like the State of California, the City of San Diego and others to provide funding to IBWC. The Transportation and Infrastructure Committee <u>passed a previous version</u> of this bill by voice vote in the 119<sup>th</sup> Congress.

Specifically, H.R.\_\_\_ would:

- Allow federal and non-federal entities to provide up to \$5 million in funding to IBWC to invest in flood control infrastructure.
- Include important legislative safeguards to prevent foreign entities of concern from contributing to the agency.

For additional information and to cosponsor, please contact Adam Taylor (<u>adam.taylor@mail.house.gov</u>) or Nicole Golden (<u>nicole.golden@mail.house.gov</u>).