Congressman Scott Peters

Representing the 52nd District of California

Search form

Main menu

search box toggle for narrow

Homeowners, Renters And COVID-19

FOR HOMEOWNERS AND RENTERS:

MORTGAGE FORBEARANCE

Homeowners with FHA, USDA, VA, and those with mortgages backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac have the right to request forbearance on their payments for up to 6 months, with a possible extension for another 6 months without fees, penalties, or extra interest.

You can determine if your loan is invested by Fannie Mae HERE

For those who may be in the process of purchasing or refinancing a home, Fannie Mae has also added a number of temporary flexibilities to their guidelines, including appraisals, that may help ease disruptions to these processes.

Should assistance be needed, impacted homeowners should first contact their loan servicer (the company that sends the monthly mortgage payment statement) to review and access these options. Homeowners should contact their mortgage servicing company directly.

You can also visit the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's guide to coronavirus mortgage relief, chock-full of useful resources.   

EVICTION PROTECTIONS

Renters residing in public or assisted housing, or in a home or apartment whose owner has a federally-backed mortgage, and who are unable to pay their rent, are protected from eviction for 4 months. Property owners are also prohibited from issuing a 30-day notice to a tenant to vacate a property until after the 4-month moratorium ends. This protection covers properties that receive federal subsidies such as public housing, Section 8 assistance, USDA rural housing programs, and federally-issued or guaranteed mortgages. Renters whose landlord is not abiding by the moratorium should contact the relevant federal agency that administers their housing program or their local Legal Aid office.

ENERGY ASSISTANCE FOR LOW INCOME FAMILIES

This legislative package includes $900 million to help low income Americans and their families heat and cool their homes. To learn more about the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) in California, click HERE or call 1-866-675-6623.